About the Foundation


To honor and champion the relevance today of the life and leadership of Dwight D. Eisenhower through compelling programs and events that celebrate his legacy.

About the Foundation

The Eisenhower Foundation non-profit was formed in 1945 after the Allied victory in Europe to create a memorial to General Eisenhower. The Boyhood Home was opened in 1947 and the Museum in 1954 by the Foundation. Public and private entities raised $3.5 million to build the Library which opened in 1962. Today, five buildings on 22 acres, comprise the Eisenhower Center and includes the Presidential Library, Presidential Museum, family home, Visitors Center and Place of Meditation.
Pylons at the Eisenhower Foundation With an American Flag Next to Them
In 1990, for the Eisenhower Centennial, the Foundation established Friends of the Eisenhower Foundation to support public programs and outreach of the Eisenhower Presidential Center.

In 2011, the four Eisenhower grandchildren joined the Board of Directors to transform the Foundation into the definitive source of Ike's life, leadership and legacy.

Eisenhower Foundation Board of Directors

  • Stephen B. Hauge, Chair
    New Jersey
  • James R. Hagerty, Vice Chair
    Washington, D.C.
  • Tim Holm, Secretary
  • Kevin J. Rooney, Treasurer
  • Ann Brownell Sloane
    New York
  • Mary Jean Eisenhower
  • Cynthia L. Hostetler
    Washington, D.C.
  • Kyle Campbell
  • Tony Orlando
  • Nicolas W. Platt
    New Jersey
  • Paul Schott Stevens
  • Washington, D.C.

Trustees of the Eisenhower Foundation

  • Susan Eisenhower, Founder
    Washington, D.C.
  • David Eisenhower
  • George A. Hagerty
  • Bill Hall 
  • Dr. Jack M. Mohler
  • Jean Ann Scupin Mohler
  • Admiral Bobby R. Inman, USN (Ret.)

Foundation Staff

  • Meredith Sleichter, Executive Director
  • Mitzi Bankes Gose, Director of IKEducation
  • Emily Miller, Director of Development
  • Denise Youtsey, Donor and Community Relations Coordinator
  • Lisa Kijowski, Administrative Assistant
  • Helen Pugh, IKEducation Specialist
  • Brooke Woodworth, IKEducation Coordinator
  • Heather Adams, IKEducator
  • Anna Gugler, IKEducator
  • Mary Hildebrand, IKEducator
  • Leslie Hoffman, IKEducator
  • Michael Hook, IKEducator
  • Ben Ines, IKEducator
  • Mike Jantz, IKEducator
  • Maria Nuss, IKEducator
  • Donna Reynolds, IKEducator